Thirteen colonies

The Thirteen Colonies were the first urban uprisings to be founded in the United States, by the British colonists who settled there. These colonies were created specifically on the east coast of the US. they were: Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Massachusetts.

These colonies maintained very similar political, legal and constitutional systems and were under the domination of English Protestants. They represented a fraction of Britain’s possessions in the new world. During the seventeenth century, England managed her colonies, under a mercantilist policy, where the central government managed them based on the economic benefit of the nation.

Many of the founding settlers of these states were mostly English, however there were also Germans, Irish, Flemish and French Huguenots; who fled their countries of origin for religious and political reasons. The inhabitants of these colonies did not have the right to express an opinion, much less decide on the laws that were admitted and on the way they were governed. They had to pay taxes for any type of activities (the press, purchase of products, bureaucratic procedures, etc.), but they could not intervene in government decisions.

Relations between Great Britain and the 13 colonies worsened every day as a result of the increase in taxes mentioned above. The colonists considered these taxes abusive and in 1770 there was a massive protest, which led to the famous Boston massacre. As a result of this, England decides to reduce taxes except for those associated with the tea trade.

However, the arbitrariness on the part of England, were tiring this group of colonies, which ended in the outbreak of a war in the year 1775, where these colonies fought to free themselves from the English yoke.

Between the years of 1775 and 1783 the war of independence between the thirteen colonies and England begins; By the year 1776, the independence of these thirteen colonies was being declared, giving rise to the birth of a new nation: the United States of America. Finally, in 1783 the Paris Agreement was signed, where England and the United States declared definitive peace.