They are called Tanakh or Palestinian Canon to the set of 24 books belonging to the Hebrew Bible, these books together with several others make up what is known as the Old Testament in the Christian Bible, what differentiates it from the latter is that they are not Arranged chronologically, the writing in these books is mostly in Hebrew, with some phrases in Aramaic.

The Christian Old Testament is closely related to the Tanakh, this is because it is made up mostly of the books of the aforementioned Old Testament, the books that are excluded in the Tanakh are the so-called Deuterocanonicals, which had been included in the so-called Bible of the Septuagint or Canon of Alexandria during the second century BC, the name Deuterocanonical can be translated as “second canon” if the protocanonical term that is translated as “first canon” is taken into account.

The history of the Tanaj dates back to the 2nd century AD, specifically the year 70 when a group of elder rabbis after the siege of Jerusalem agreed to definitively establish the books that would make up the Palestinian Canon, these books are known by the name of Protocanonical. The Tanaj is divided into three different sections, the first of which is called the Law or Torah, followed by The Prophets “Nevi’im” and ends with The Writings or “Ketuvim”.

The law is made up of the so-called books of the pentateuch, a word that derives from the Greek “pente” which means “five” and “teûjos” which means “founded for books” the books that make it up are: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus Numbers and Deuteronomy, in these are captured the stories in chronological form of the creation of the universe, the journeys of the People Chosen by God (Israel) until the death of the prophet Moses.

The prophets, second part of the Tanaj, this in turn is divided according to the classification of the prophet and are the following:

  • Former Prophets: Joshua, Judges, Samuel and Kings.
  • Later Prophets: Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel.
  • Minor Prophets: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.

The writings, the last of the three parts of the Tanaj, are divided into 3:

  • Poetic Books: Book of Psalms, Proverbs, Job.
  • The Five Scrolls: Song of Songs, Ruth, Lamentations, Ecclesiastes and Esther.
  • Historical Books: Daniel, Ezra, Nehemiah and Chronicles 1st and 2nd.