Latin America

Latin America, or also known as Hispanic America, is a territory or region made up of each of the Spanish-speaking American states, in other words, it could be said that it is a subcontinent made up of the Spanish-speaking nations or countries or that have as their language official Spanish, whose name would be “Hispanoamericano” or “Hispanoamericana”. Latin America is made up of some 20 countries with a total of 400 million inhabitants.

As was well said, Spanish is the official or co-official language of all these countries or territories that represent Latin America, although it should be noted that other languages ​​may also exist in these territories, mainly indigenous languages ​​spoken by their communities, which among them They are: Quechua, Nahuatl, Mayan, Guarani, Aymara, among many others.

Although according to its etymology Hispano-America alludes to Hispania, which was an ancient Roman province, which also encompassed what we now know as peninsular Portugal, the current use of “Hispania” makes “Spain” be understood in a special way, either because of its resemblance in its pronunciation, therefore is that the term is used to differentiate itself from Latin America.

And given that they often address the terms Ibero-America, Latin America and Hispanic America as synonyms; but it should be noted that from a political, cultural, social, or linguistic sense, their meaning is different from one another. Although many times this is a matter of controversy since the distinction of each of them is not well unified.

The difference between these terms is:

Hispanic America refers to the territories of America that have Spanish as their official language.

Ibero-America, refers to the group of American states or nations of Spanish or Portuguese language.

Latin America includes the American territories or countries where languages ​​originating from Latin are spoken, such as Spanish, French and Portuguese.

The countries that make up Latin America are: Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Uruguay, Venezuela, Argentina Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador.