classical physics

Classical physics is a branch of physics that is based on reasoning prior to the emergence of quantum mechanics. It is considered deterministic, since the state of a closed system will later depend absolutely on the state of the system at the moment. Classical physics encompasses other disciplines such as mechanics, electromagnetism, optics, thermodynamics, kinematics, among others.

It can be said that the basic objective of classical physics is the study of phenomena that have a speed much lower than the speed of light. Historically, this field of physics encompassed all those studies that were carried out before the 20th century.

As already mentioned, classical physics is integrated by other sciences, which are defined as follows:

  • Mechanics: investigates movement, force and all those phenomena that originate it. This at the same time, is classified in: mechanics of liquids, solids and gases.
  • Acoustics: investigate everything related to the manifestations of sound.
  • Optics: conducts studies focused on light and all its manifestations.
  • Electromagnetism: is responsible for analyzing the link between magnetism and electricity.

The physicists who were interested in and promoted classical physics were: Galileo Galilei, Isaac Newton and Albert Einstein. However, the classical physics that everyone knows today is due to Mr. Newton, who was the one who enunciated the three basic laws of classical physics, known as the famous “Newton’s laws”.

  • Newton’s first law: “every body is at rest, unless forced to change its state by forces fixed on it.”
  • Newton’s Second Law: “The change in motion of a body is directly proportional to the total force acting on it, as well as being inversely proportional to its volume.”
  • Newton’s third law: “every force will always be accompanied by another force with the same magnitude, but in the opposite direction.”

It is important to note that Newton is considered the creator of classical physics.